CSU Health Network Business Services updated in response to COVID-19.
Questions about billing, health insurance, medical records, or other administrative concerns in response to COVID-19Private Insurance and Private Insurance Billing
- COVID-19 information for students with private insurance
- For questions about private insurance billing, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Student Health Insurance Plan (SHIP) and RamCare
- Click here for COVID-19 information for CSU students with Student Health Insurance Plan (SHIP) coverage
- For questions about CSU Student Health Insurance Plan (SHIP) or RamCare, please email email@example.com.
- For medical records questions or requests, please call (970) 491-7509 or (970) 491-2349.
A confidential health record is created for you upon proof of immunizations, receipt of off-campus medical records and/or after your first visit to the CSU Health Network.
Medical and mental health records are considered protected health information (PHI) and are not included in the general university record keeping system. Health records are maintained by the CSU Health Network Medical Records department in compliance with federal and Colorado retention regulations.
For students under 18 years of age
If you are under 18 years of age, your parent(s) or legal guardian(s) must sign an Authorization for Treatment of a Minor before you can be seen at CSU Health Network. The completed form is kept in your electronic health record.
Health History and Other Health Forms for Incoming Students
- If an incoming student has a chronic medical condition, we recommend their doctor’s office send a copy of pertinent medical records to the CSU Health Network.
- Additionally, be sure to complete the online Health History form through the Student Health Portal. Learn more about recommended health forms for new students.
Releasing Your Health Information
CSU Health Network is dedicated to providing quality care to students in a private and confidential setting. HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996) is a federal law that carefully protects private health information of patients and clients. Both HIPAA and the ethics of the provider/patient/client relationship guard each student’s privacy. No private health information can be given to Deans, professors, parents, significant others, friends, family members or other physicians without the explicit written consent of the student.
- Protected health information cannot be released without the patient or client’s written consent/authorization unless mandated by law. If a patient is 18 years of age or older, CSU Health Network cannot release any information without the student’s consent, even to parents. This information includes diagnosis, appointment history, test results, and billing information. A Consent/Authorization to Access or Release Protected Health Information form is available if you would like to release your protected health information.
- To have health information shared with parents, professors, etc., an Information Exchange form needs to be completed. This form must be filled out in person at the CSU Health Network or by contacting the Medical Records department to request a copy of the form.
- Records are retained for 7 years from the last date of service in accordance with the State of Colorado Archives Retention Schedule.
Charges for Medical Records
- Medical Records (sent to self, insurance company, legal representative, etc.)
- Students: $6.00 charge
- Provider to Provider: No charge
- Insurance, Attorney- follows Colorado State Statutes
- First 10 pages: $18.53 charge
- Pages 11 – 40: $0.85 per page
- Pages 41 and up: $0.57 per page
- Immunizations Records: No charge
Please note: Fees must be paid prior to the release of the records.
Accessing Immunizations Records on the Student Health Portal
- Immunization records may be accessed through the Health Portal up to one year after graduation. Students who have graduated more than a year ago my get their immunization records by contacting our Medical Records department at 970-491-7121
- In order to access your Immunization Records, please log on to the Student Health Portal. You can find your immunization history under the My Profile drop-down menu
Advance Directives are written instructions concerning your wishes about your medical treatment, and are used in the event you are unable to make health care decisions for yourself. CSU Health Network will accept your Advance Directive(s). If you choose to send it in advance of being seen here, we will send a letter of receipt which will also explain our policy on the release of Protected Health Information (PHI). The Advance Directive will be scanned into your electronic health record and placed in the legal folder.
You may also bring your Advance Directive with you during your first visit.
Two good websites for more information and copies of the forms for State Specific Advance Directives:
- Caring Info is the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization’s website, or
- Put it in writing is the American Hospital Association’s website.
Both sites will guide you through the process of filling out the correct form(s). If you spend a great deal of time in more than one state, you may wish to consider having an advance directive that meets the requirements of the laws of both states.
Once the form is completed and signed, photocopy the form and give it to the person you have appointed to make decisions on your behalf, your family, friends, healthcare providers and/or faith leaders so that the form is available in the event of an emergency.
Power of Attorney and Your College Student
A Power of Attorney (POA) grants the individual Attorney-in-Fact rights. This person can make financial and legal decisions on behalf of his or her student, like responding to legal matters or entering into contracts. However, this does not allow the CSU Health Network to release medical bills, due to the nature of the protected health information listed.
To make medical decisions on behalf of his or her student, the individual would need a Medical or Health Care POA. This person is then able to make medical decisions for his or her student in the event that the student is unable to do so. For example, the student is in a car accident and cannot make decisions about treatment.
If a student has legally designated an individual POA or Medical POA, this document should be kept with the designated POA and with the student. CSU Health Network can scan a Medical POA into a student’s electronic health record for reference. If the student is being seen at a local hospital or different health care facility, this information would need to be provided directly to that facility by the student or designated POA.
A POA or Medical POA does not carry over through death. As of Jan 2013, CSU Health Network may provide medical records or information to a parent or family member who is known to be directly involved in the care of the student, and the records are limited to the condition that was the cause of death. Should a proxy become deceased, the POA or Medical POA is void. At that point, the individual requesting information must have an individual representative graduated from the court.
Laws vary by state, and CSU Health Network would recommend consulting an attorney to discuss your needs and state requirements. Enrolled, fee-paying students can access free legal services through CSU Student Legal Services.